Education has a great social importance especially in the modern, complex industrialized societies. Philosophers of all periods, since ancient times, have devoted a great deal of attention to it.

We at Indira Gandhi Women’s College, one of the premier educational institutions of the State, are continuously in the process of garnering new talent and imparting the students with learning from the new changing dynamics of the day-to-day world.

I welcome all the students to a world where they can explore their abilities and talents. The process of learning offered here will enrich them and their contributions in turn will add to the achievements of the college.

Over the years the college has achieved continuing success in serving the cause of female education in this area. The college presents a happy blend of traditional and modern education where knowledge is imparted to the students so that they may occupy a better place in the modern competitive world and develop all round personalities retaining the beauty of mind and intellect as well as of soul.

It has made its mark in academic, sports and cultural fields. I can feel proud of its Alumni who are holding responsible position in social, political and economic life of the nation. All this has been possible with the dedicated and strenuous efforts of the able managing committee and hard work and experienced faculty and also with the whole-hearted co-operation of the people of the area to whom. I am highly grateful.

I assure that college will play a meaningful role in the competitive times ahead and scale new heights, translating the dreams of the people of the area into reality and bring education in this rural area. I pray for future growth and prosperity of the college and wish the managements, staff and students all success in the years to come.

With Best Wishes,


Dr. B. Das

List of Principals

1 Prof. Basanti Mohapatra 01.01.1980 22.11.1996
2 Dr. Purna Ch. Kanungo 23.11.1996 30.06.2001
3 Prof. Sujata Rout 01.07.2001 05.07.2001
4 Dr. Sisir Kr. Kanungo 06.07.2001 31.10.2005
5 Prof. Rabindra Nath Ray 31.10.2005 29.11.2005
6 Dr.Chittaranjan Mohanty 29.11.2005 26.06.2008
7 Prof Ajit Kumar Pattnayak 26.06.2008 31.05.2010
8 Prof Rabindra Nath Roy 31.05.2010 01.12.2015
9 Smt. Soudamini Moharana 14.12.2015 14.05.2019
10 Dr. Rita Das 14.05.2019 15.06.2019
11 Dr. Bandita Dash 15.06.2019 Continuing